top of page

Q & A with Tethys


We`ve been following Tethys a number of years now and needless to say, he remains an inspiration to us here at Big Wave Records.

His creative capacity keeps us entertained on a daily basis with sharp hashtags and video displays, and his dedication is something to admire. Just do yourself a favour and check out his Instagram account or Facebook page to see exactly what we mean!

An epitome of today's underground artist, Tethys is serious about his craft and abilities. He delivers on all levels, stays true to his evolving nature which makes him forever unpredictable - just the way we like it - and stays humble and loyal to lovers and admirers of his music throughout.

With a new EP on the way, it`s the perfect time to do a Q&A session to learn more about this multi-talented Creative from Pennsylvania.

 

Q1. Tell us more about your musical background/influences/inspiration

Well being in a musical family, I started music at a very young age and learned as much as I could growing up. My inspirations come from almost every genre. Classical, jazz, industrial, electronic, rock, metal, and the like. I would just play guitar in my room to bands like Tool, STP, Incubus, NIN and other similar groups. As I got into my late teens I started listening to a lot more electronic music after the Breakbeat/IDM age came about. So artists like Aphex Twin, Clark, Squarepusher, The Crystal Method, The Chemical Brothers and Boards of Canada helped paved the path for my future.

Q2. Your dad is a legend in his own right; anyone other musical family members?

He certainly has had accomplishments in his life for sure. He’s done work with Tom Jones, as well as Sonny and Cher. My mother dabbled with piano and loved to sing. My sister also plays piano and sings. My brother also sings. None of my siblings do anything musical professionally. My father is the only one in the family besides me that plays guitar and does professional work.

Q3. Tell us a bit more about where you live and what you do on a day-to-day basis to pay the bills.

I live in a relatively busy part of Pennsylvania, just about an hours drive outside of Philadelphia. To make money I currently work in finance for affluent people. I deal with lending, accounts, and the like. I’m an advocate for those who are looking to restructure their finances. It does pay the bills while I try to get my feet off the ground musically. I hope to eventually be the starving artist as my only job. When I’m not working I am in the studio each day coming up with new ideas. I’ve made it a whole other job in itself.

Q4. Any formal studies/qualifications?

I graduated 10 years ago with a degree in Psychology. Then worked in the mental health field for about 6 years until my own mental health started to get compromised haha. Aside of that previous line of work, I take part in amateur astronomy when I get the time to do volunteer work with some local societies.

Q5. We know you are a super talented multi-instrumentalist; how many instruments do you actually play, and are you self-tought?

Thank you! While I do dabble with a lot of instruments, there are only a handful I play avidly. Guitar and piano being the longest standing. My other main instruments would be synthesizer, bass guitar, and drums. I had piano lessons when I was young and guitar lessons from my father. This was the basis of my learning theory. All of the other instruments I play have been self-taught. The dabbles include, but not limited to, clarinet, zither, didgeridoo, flute, singing, violin, and percussion. I also have an array of handmade instruments I use made that are made from random trinkets.

Q6. How has the process of making music changed for you over the years?

It’s been quite the evolution for sure. I was in many different style bands as a guitar player. At the time my only focus was writing music on guitar that would be played with other individuals. I blame guitar pedals for getting me into synthesis. When I got my first DAW in 2000, I started writing electronic music and have been doing so ever since. Also I made sure to keep close to the styles that have been a part of me while in bands, so I can hopefully add something new to the genre of electronic music.

Q7. Tell us about your live public performances; and will you be doing more in the future - any big stages on the horizon?

At first I found it a challenge to perform live because I had no idea how I was going to present the whole picture of what I do. Electronic music is often DJ’d and I didn’t want to do just that. Especially since my songs change in so many styles from heavy guitar riffs to screeching sounds. I wouldn’t say what I write is conventional to standard electronic music, only in certain tracks. So over time I’ve come up with a model that allows me to perform live instruments along with my tracks. So it’s sort-of like DJing, but instead of just standing there, I actually get to play with things too. As far as venues go, once I’ve sent off my new EP for publishing, I’ll be starting to network for live performances in my surrounding region. Big stages would be nice haha.

Q8. Any collaborations past/present/future?

Keeping it to just Tethys, I’ve had a few collaborations from guest vocals to doing remixes on some singles. One of my favorites being a part of the "Pacemakers" compilation on your label. I’ve however never had any featured guests on any of my published work until this release coming up. I’ve got a few girls I’m working with that are doing mainly poetry. I’m quite excited for it and will probably have guests for all of my future releases.

Q9. So your New EP "Ceramic Personality" is on it`s way: please tell us more about the process and what we can expect!

It certainly is! I’ll be sending it off for publishing in the next week or so as it’s just about wrapped up. The process for this album has been a new approach for me. I wanted to make something heavier and more cohesive. My other albums have been songs I’ve separately written and then, later on, placed together in an order I thought sounded good. This time I’ve written the songs with the intention of them being part of the same family from the start. The only time I’ve done this before was my “Antelizan EP.” That album however was a project aside of my usual sound that had a more 80’s and theatrical element to it. You can expect this to be the heaviest work I’ve written.

Q10. Are you officially signed with any labels; if not - why not; and if so, why?

I am officially signed with Passive Front Records in the U.K. They are a net label I’ve been with for about 4 years now. They’ve put me on every major digital network that I can think of and take good care of me. A kind group of artists for sure and I’m proud to be a part of their family. While there are thousands of Net Labels to choose from, they’ve become good friends. They encourage me to branch out and I am taking their suggestion in the near future to find other people to work for synonymously.

Q11. Future aspirations for Tethys?

Yes indeed. My work never stops. I’m already working on a full-length album I plan on releasing some time hopefully next fall. There is also another project I will be working with in the near future, but I won’t be able to release much information about that until later. *wink*wink*

Q12: What`s your typical setup gear-wise; any favourite software/hardware for you right now and why?

My central hub focuses around Ableton Live. I’ve been using it for the past 7 years now. I usually have a keyboard controller, a pad controller, and then any live instruments along side such as my Korg MS20 Mini or guitars and drums. I have a small and simple setup but I feel like for what I’m expressing, it’s all I need. If I could have a wall of modular and a nice mixing desk it would be a joy, but it’s not needed at the moment. Plus I’m not very rich haha. A lot of folks have huge studios with tons of gear and options to work with. Granted, while nothing will match a real instrument, your average listener isn’t coming to me saying “Is that a software synth?” I’ve always been taught to work with what you’ve got and if anything else is granted to you, all the better.

Q13. With regards to the music industry; what`s your take on the charts and the commercial marketed band culture of today?

It’s a cut-throat world out there for sure. Unlike the music industry of the past, social media has taken precedence and it’s made things so much more competitive. I often see famous musicians going independent so they can make their own rules. Passive Front Records allows me an open canvas and I’ve been very thankful of them for such freedom. I feel the audience has much more power now in how you make it over what the record industry does. A reputable label could put out a track on the most popular site, but all of the voices in the social media and internet have the real say in it. This however is a wonderful thing at the same time because the social media world is a great way to promote yourself. This has also allowed so many talented people the opportunity to show who they are without the barriers of trying to get a label first. There are so, so many skilled individuals I’ve seen with barely any following that should be well above the ones that are on the top charts.

Q14. Favourite artists/bands/groups at the moment?

I’ve been very much into Pigface lately. Although he doesn’t have any new releases, his style just vibes with me currently. I love all of his collaborations too. Clark is also another one that has been a huge inspiration to me more than the past. Never before have I seen such a hard worker in his writing ethic. John Cage has also been a recent inspiration due to me reading his newest book.

Q15. Have you had any life-changing spiritual experiences you would care to share?

Absolutely. I’ll keep it to the ones I can legally mention haha. With the departure of my ex-wife 3 years ago, my whole world turned upside down. After her leaving me I had an entire new life before me. I wanted to do everything and anything I could to show the world what I can offer through my music. In addition to this change, I have had the pure blessing of my current girlfriend Tiffany. She is also an artist and has been my partner in crime through the whole experience. She’s my best friend and an honest critique of my work.

Q16. We know you love your tats, any specific meaning to them?

All of them hold a special meaning for sure. Most of them are crop circles. In 2004 I witnessed a UFO in a very rural part of Pennsylvania. Without going into detail, it was clearly evident I was looking at one. Mind you I was void of any mind-altering drugs at the time. While it is still a question of whether or not crop circles are of extraterrestrial origin, the meaning behind them is why I wear them. My other tattoos all are either from someone I idolize, or from a certain part of my life that I want to remember.

Q17. You also rock some serious dreads; are they merely a fashion statement or is it symbolic of your lifestyle/religion ?

Great question. As a pantheist, I am not affiliated with any one specific religion. The many cultures from which my hairstyle has come from is an inspiration to me. For that, I hope to represent my respect for the meaning behind all the cultures dreadlocks stem from as a collective ideal. Furthermore, it takes great dedication to keep them in good order, so it gives me something to be proud of in taking care of my appearance. I’ve also had many influences throughout the years that have had this hairstyle, and that, in a small part, is also a reason to why I currently have locks.

Q18. Do you practice any other art forms?

Yes, but not as often as I would like to. I do painting as well as Pyrography. Every once in a while I get to take part in those pleasures. I also practice yoga, self-hypnosis meditation, and tai chi as much as I can.

Q19. A Tethys quote to live by / words of wisdom?

Never let the motivation that drives you stray too far away. It is a vital organ in the progression of your life.

Recent Posts
Archive
Follow BWR
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page